
New Duelling Lammy Concept –  version 2.1 
Envelope front      

   Duelling 

Envelope 
 

You will be MISSED and should role-play accordingly 

when/if fired at*. This sealed envelope should be  

handed back to the ref after the duel is over. 

You will be HIT and should role-play accordingly 

when/if fired at*. This envelope should then be  

promptly opened and the effects inside followed. 

 
Inside Card examples    
 

             Duelling Effect 

SINGLE THROUGH 

Start your death count on: 

 
 

Debilitated?             Yes              No 

 
 

             Duelling Effect 

SINGLE THROUGH 

No Death Count! 

 

Debilitated?             Yes              No 

 
 

             Duelling Effect 

Just Grazed 

No Death Count! 

No Damage! 

Not Debilitated! 

 
 

             Duelling Effect 

DOUBLE THROUGH 

Start your death count on: 

 
 

Debilitated?             Yes              No 

 

Procedure 
• Referee checks character cards to ascertain skills and 

goes through the duelling rules with the players 

• Each player chooses which of the two duelling styles they 
wish to use and secretly informs the referee 

• The referee activates the randomiser and cross 
references the relevant style to find the result for each 
player 

• Directly before the duel starts the players get a sealed 
envelope containing a card showing the result with 
outside indicating if they are 'HIT'* or MISS* 

• Role playing of duel begins and either both shoot 
simultaneously or one shoots first 

• The victims hit need to fairly quickly open their mini-
envelope and follow the card indicating the results  

• The actual hit can be role-played by each player in any 
way they like 

* Unless the referee says otherwise at the time 
 
Notes 

Duel shooting rules no longer apply (i.e. normal shooting rules 
resume) if a character has become debilitated  
For purposes of magical defences etc, the mortal wound is at least 
a SINGLE THROUGH 
If 'rock salt' dark powder is used then these dueling rules aren't 
used as all hits are just ZERO damage 
Death counts from a mortal wound by a secondary can’t start higher 
than zero 
 
Comments 

In many cases, a player will be hit for a SINGLE THROUGH and 
have to start their death count on higher than the normal zero, 
requiring a treat wounds or amputate if they are to have any chance 
of survival. If they have a magical defence that stops them taking 
the mortal part then they ignore the death count box 
If informing them in advance about being hit or missed proves 
unworkable then we'll either switch to all misses being grazes 
or discuss doctoring the caps 
 
Every hit (except a graze) does a minimum of a SINGLE 
THROUGH (i.e. unless they can do a DOUBLE THROUGH plus) 
A separate 50% random roll decides if the hit is also a debilitation 
The number is where they have to start their death count  
If => max death count then they have seconds to live and no hope 
of survival 
 

 

*Unless overruled by the ref 


